Back Porch_1_BeforeBack Porch_2_BeforeBack Porch_3_AfterBack Porch_4_AfterBack Porch_4_AfterCurtain Tiebacks_2Full Back Porch ViewOur back porch was filthy and a place of catch-it-all storage. I wanted some place to sit outside and enjoy the cool evenings. Although, in West Texas there aren’t many of those during the summer!

I have to thank my sons, husband and his workers for helping with this project. I just gave orders and directions on how I wanted things! lol. But they were the backbone who put everything together in the hot summer sun.

Unfortunately, we were unable to move our AC unit, so I decorated around it. If you click on the pics to get a closer look, in the finished picture you can see the Cinder Block / Concrete Planters that are posted in one of my other blog outdoor projects.

Initially, the porch didn’t have a roof. It was designed as a pergola, was old, crumbling and had vines growing on it. I wanted some privacy and a place for plants and relaxation, with protection from the outside elements such as rain and wind. It gets very windy and hot in West Texas, shade is a must.

  • Braced/repaired existing wood. Installed new wood where needed.
  • Covered the roof with plywood and roofing materials.
  • Installed soffit to undersides.
  • Caulked and painted using outdoor paint.
    • I chose yellow to contrast with the blue/grey house.
    • Painted the metal poles as well.
  • Added vinyl lattice to last longer than wood lattice.
    • This was a big task for my husband because the poles are metal, so they had to use self-tapping screws to place the lattice.
  • Cleaned off the brick ground that was covered with years of layered dirt.
  • Placed furniture, Cinder Block Concrete Planters, plants.